Angels Flying Slowly

Angels Flying Slowly When their father runs off with another woman Isobel and Caro are left to their mother Iris who relieves her frustration with bouts of fury directed at her daughters Bewildered and hurt by their mo

  • Title: Angels Flying Slowly
  • Author: Jill Roe
  • ISBN: 9780312134273
  • Page: 366
  • Format: Hardcover
  • When their father runs off with another woman, Isobel and Caro are left to their mother, Iris, who relieves her frustration with bouts of fury directed at her daughters Bewildered and hurt by their mother s lack of affection, the girls turn inward for support, erecting a fence of fierce mutual loyalty against the outside world Dispatched to a convent boarding school, theWhen their father runs off with another woman, Isobel and Caro are left to their mother, Iris, who relieves her frustration with bouts of fury directed at her daughters Bewildered and hurt by their mother s lack of affection, the girls turn inward for support, erecting a fence of fierce mutual loyalty against the outside world Dispatched to a convent boarding school, the sisters find the discipline harsh and the mysteries of religion alien Although this community of women is rife with petty rivalries and unhealthy passions, they also discover a love and security lacking at home, until the arrival of their cousin Ursula Exotic, beautiful, and obedient, Ursula is everything the sisters are not Abandoned by her own mother, Ursula insinuates herself into Iris s affections and heightens an already tense family situation At the convent, Ursula s knowing gaze provokes nuns and girls alike She perpetrates sly tricks everywhere and always escapes punishment Pushed to the limit, Isobel decides to exact her own revenge.

    • Best Read [Jill Roe] Þ Angels Flying Slowly || [Self Help Book] PDF ✓
      366 Jill Roe
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Jill Roe] Þ Angels Flying Slowly || [Self Help Book] PDF ✓
      Posted by:Jill Roe
      Published :2018-08-13T23:53:45+00:00

    One thought on “Angels Flying Slowly”

    1. This story about two sisters, Isobel (Bel) and Caroline (Caro), covers two key years in their lives, 1947 and 1950. Although the girls are 12 and 10, this book is not written for middle-schoolers, or anyway, I wouldn’t have wanted my daughters reading this at that age, as it deals with very mature subjects. It is about what hatred, nastiness, desperation and oppression can do to children, not to mention those around them. Not that there isn’t love. There is, and Bel and Caro know and experie [...]

    2. Although I have listed this book as a school story, it is very much in the vein of Antonia White’s Frost in May, I think that some of the subject matter would mean that it would be categorised as at least young adult or even adult.The story is about two sisters Caroline aged four and Isobel aged seven. They are from a broken marriage, their father ran off with tobacconists wife and their mother Iris really does not want to be bothered with them. Caroline gets away with much more that Isobel be [...]

    3. Someone left this book at my home so I read it. It was a slow read and nothing I would have bought myself to read.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *